Ghulam Ali in Pune on 2nd September 2007


Ghulam Ali Ghulam Ali will be performing live in Pune on 2nd September 2007 at Ganesh Krida Mandal. As far as I can remember – it is his first public performance in Pune after a long, long time. I don’t remember when was the last public performance in Pune. I don’t remember reading about any such public performance in last 10-12 years.

I am really excited to watch him perform live – a dream come true for me. His voice has mesmerized me for more than 15-16 years now and his ghazals grew on me over the years. I haven’t ever been been lucky enough to attend any one of his private concerts, but have listened to his every ghazal that is available in India. I have more than 250 Ghulam Ali’s ghazals in my collection and I can recall any one of them even in my sleep – I know them all by heart. I have lost count how many times I must have heard them! In fact, 5-6 years ago I developed a small site dedicated to Ghulam Ali here – http://www.technofundo.com/fun/music/ga/index.html with all his ghazals (from my collection) listed there. The DB here contains 244 Ghulam Ali’s ghazals’ listings along with the lyricists (No mp3 or sound though!) with search feature. As far as I know, this is the largest online source of information available online about Ghulam Ali.

How I really wish I could get a chance to meet him personally this time – just to let him know how much I adore him & his ghazals. Just to let him show the website I have developed & dedicated to him!! I am just hoping that I could get 5 minutes to talk to my favorite Ghazal Singer whom I adore so much! I should be so lucky!! Amen!!! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Ghulam Ali in Pune on 2nd September 2007

  1. Samar says:

    Hello, I am a big fan of Gulam Ali. Please do let me know if you have any idea about him coming to Chennai (Madras) this year (2007) or later. I have never seen him live, would love to see him once.
    Thanks.

  2. hi
    its good to know that u have dedicated such good website to Janab Ghulam Ali. i too a fan of him. i just wanna know that can u provide me any contact number of his or his address. because i m going to pakistan for business purpose and i would have enough time to see him
    i will be very thankfull to you for the kindness
    good wishes

  3. hussain khan says:

    hey wel plz lel me know any time gulam ali sir comes to mumbai and havi9ng show of him m a big fan of him i wan to see him live performing

Leave a Reply

